Tastes Good: Summer Cool

June 14, 2009

Last week my honeymoon with the summer weather ended. Every day of the week was that rainy and that sticky, wet, humid, hot that makes my hair go from straight to abundantly curly. I spent most of my after work hours trying to de-frizz and searching for an edible antidote to the hot weather. I am pretty excited about these gems you can make at home for a quick summer cool-down.

1.) Homemade Wine Spritz: This is a fast, refreshing summer libation. I have long been a fan of the Basque drink the Kalimocho which mixes red wine and Coca-cola though, I have found it comes off as a very offensive prospect to your average wine snob. Here’s a new take on my old favorite.

wine final blueGuS Sodas are made in New York, crafted for adults (GuS stands for grown-up soda) as a less-sweet-than-soda sparkling beverage. With flavors like Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Lime they are certainly a step above your average canned cola. To make the grown-up soda into a full fledged adult beverage, try mixing it with red wine and pour over ice. This works best with wine that is fruity but not too sweet. You can stick to one flavor or mix and match. GuS even makes a Dry Cola so you can mix up a grown-up Kalimocho if you’re feeling brave.

2. Popsicles: After reading about People’s Pops on Coolhunting last week, I made a stop at the Brooklyn Flea to try them out. The strawberry rhubarb was divine and the guys serving them up were cute and very into my dog (fastest way into my good graces I tell you). It was the perfect weekend summer treat. But, what about my weeknight popsicle fix? Sure I could pick up some generic pops at the bodega or, for a fraction of the price (this is a recession and the cost of popsicles does add up) I could make my own at home.

popsicle finalThough I will never attempt to aspire to the greatness of People’s Pops, here are the amateur versions I have been concocting with my Cuisinart.

  • Pineapple Lime Pops: 1.) Pour contents of 2 20oz. cans of pineapple chunks in juice with 2/3 cup lime juice and 1 tablespoon lime zest into Cuisinart. 2.) Pulverize to desired consistency. 3.) Pour into popsicle molds or ice cube tray and freeze.
  • Strawberry Mint Yo-Pops: 1.) Combine 2 cups vanilla yogurt and 1 12oz. bag frozen strawberries into Cuisinart. Blend until mixed. 2.) On stove top make Mint Simple Syrup: Bring 1 cup sugar and 1 1/2 cups cold water to a boil, cook until sugar dissolves and mixture thickens slightly. Remove from heat and stir in 1 cup fresh mint leaves. Allow to cool. 3.) Add Mint Simple Syrup to strawberry yogurt mixture to taste (remaining Mint Syrup can be added to lemonade or iced tea or used to make a killer Mojito) 4.) Pour into popsicle molds or ice cube trays and freeze.

The best part about these two recipes is that you can’t go wrong. Just mix up whatever tastes good to you. Instant cool.

One Response to “Tastes Good: Summer Cool”

  1. c:

    your flavors are extraordinarily people-friendly. can we borrow your cuisinart? ours broke.

    sincerely,
    people’s pops

Leave a Reply

